Semel in anno…Happy Halloween I-House!

Semel in anno licet insanire, said the ancient Romans. Once in a year you can turn crazy.

Hopefully we all have fun more than once per year, but Halloween in the US is certainly a great occasion to practice our imagination and get out of the comfort zone dressing up in crazy ways.

I-House Front Desk this year is more festive than ever, decorated with spiderwebs and mini vampires (BOO!).  There are lots of activities planned and not only the students but even I-House staff is ready to go crazy for our monthly coffee hour that has been turned into a Halloweeny staff gathering with spooky music, decorations and even prizes for the best costumes.

Annual Fund coordinator Laura Berman "attacked" by a spooky hand

Annual Fund Coordinator Laura Berman “attacked” by a spooky hand

There is no Halloween in Italy but I embraced this spooky celebration from the very first year I came to the US. It’s just too fun. Initially I could not believe people would come to work in costumes or scary makeup, but it actually happens every year. The post office, banks, childcare, grocery shops, just name a place. Where you don’t expect it, you’ll see an employee dressed as a vampire, a witch, a clown, a skeleton. Last week someone from campus came to I-House to train the staff in a new system we’ll be using from November 1st. Well, he was dressed as Count Dracula, I could not believe my eyes:))

It may be unheard in Italy, where I used to live, but if you think about it, the ability to make fun of ourselves sometimes defines us as better people and can create a lighter and more festive working environment.

Front Desk manager Liliana Cardile "ambushed" at the FD by RA Greg Moore

Front Desk manager Liliana Cardile “ambushed” at the FD by RA Greg Moore

So in true American spirit (and in the cosmopolitan atmosphere of I-House) let’s see what we can do. From my privileged observatory on your daily lives, dearest residents, I can’t wait to see what you can come up with.

Happy Halloween everyone and…take lots of pictures!

ATTENTION RESIDENTS: The I-House staff will be hosting a Resident Trick-Or-Treat Friday afternoon from 1:30-3pm.  Residents in costume can stop by the following offices for a special Halloween treat:  The Front Desk, Admissions, Center for Intercultural Leadership, Events, Catering & Dining Services and the Executive Office.  All participating offices will be marked with a special orange I-HOUSE TRICK-OR-TREAT flyer.  If you need directions to any of these offices, please check at the Front Desk.  Happy Halloween!

And if you want to know more about trick-or-treating tradition:  http://www.history.com/topics/halloween/history-of-trick-or-treating

 

About lilianacardile

For my whole life the world has been a wonderful book and, being an avid reader, I have enjoyed every page so far. Journalist, traveller, internationalist and...gourmet I plan to see it all. At I-House I can do it just sitting at the Front Desk!
This entry was posted in Activities, Faces of I-House, Life at I-House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Semel in anno…Happy Halloween I-House!

  1. Pingback: Halloween, I-House Style! | I-House: Where UC Berkeley Meets the World

Leave a Reply

