I-House is always open for intercultural exchanges

I-House is always open for intercultural exchanges!Seeing things from a different perspective.

That’s what it’s all about when it comes to learning and understanding.

I have long practiced this “golden rule” in my previous life when I was reporting from different places in the world and I had to quickly learn new cultures and write about them. I miss it now that my life has taken a different course here in beautiful, progressive, open-minded, organically correct Berkeley. What better place if you yourself claim to be progressive, open-minded, (semi) organically correct like I do? Even the food is great. We have our campus to be super proud of, the weather is amazing, hopefully we’re even going to beat the Big soda industry and set an example for the rest of the country! Oh yes, it’s great to live in Berkeley, it’s great to work in campus.

However…don’t blame me if, in days like today, I miss being pushed out of my comfort zone by some new challenging political topic or some intriguing discussion about the rest of the world, about the countries you are coming from, dear residents.

I crave seeing things through your eyes. What does the resident from Hong Kong think about the protests in his or her country? What does the Muslim resident talk about when she or he calls parents and relatives back home? What are you Singaporeans learning about the US that you did not know before? What are you European residents learning from your experience here?

I am sure your lunch and dinner times are packed with this kind of topics.

Just know that one of the main reasons I wanted this job at I-House, is because of you and because of the things I can learn and discuss with you when you are not rushing from one class to the other.

You are always welcome at I-House Front Desk and I am always ready to be taken for a ride in your beautiful, interesting, painful, different cultural backgrounds!

About lilianacardile

For my whole life the world has been a wonderful book and, being an avid reader, I have enjoyed every page so far. Journalist, traveller, internationalist and...gourmet I plan to see it all. At I-House I can do it just sitting at the Front Desk!
This entry was posted in Faces of I-House, Life at I-House, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

