Sunday Supper makes it happen again!

Last weekend I attended a Sunday Supper for first time and, even now, after few days, I can still feel the excitement and the good vibe of that beautiful evening. Sunday Supper is one of the oldest programs at International House, and once again, it proved to be extraordinary for many reasons.

IMG_2639

To start with: dearest residents you all were so elegant in your ties, high heels, gowns and suits. I see you everyday rushing out to your classes and this was such a change. Makeup, sparkling clothes, some bow ties here and there, even few faux lashes, some ethic dresses. Oh my, you know how fond of elegance I am. I enjoyed looking at each and everyone of you, what a treat.

IMG_2644

Also, it was a special occasion as my older son, Mattia, was accompanying me to an event for first time and I was proud and happy to show him I-House “by night” and our wonderful community. He has been growing in a very international environment but bringing him to I-House is always like going to intercultural communication class. Every time, he comes home with some new question and curiosity or learns about a new country and looks it up in his world map. I love when this happens!

After a nice reception in the Great Hall the evening officially started. We had some very good food served to us and an exciting show to watch.

IMG_2638  IMG_2640

That rope skipping to the rhythm of country music blew our minds!  And, what about the final Gangnam style performance? Shhhh, don’t tell anyone, but Hans, our Executive Director, was right in front of me moving and shaking Korean style.

Rope skipping  

IMG_2690IMG_2727

IMG_2671   IMG_2712

The moment the Davis Peace Projects were presented was really great. To see some previous residents making the difference somewhere in the world gave all of us such a pride. And it made me think that everything is possible when we work together and share a bit of that spirit treasured here at I-House: understanding while learning to live together under the same roof, under the Dome.

IMG_2720

I left joyful, full of hope. My son told me he loved to be “just the two of us at I-House.” I am honored to be helping such beautiful and smart residents with my daily job. And I harbor the not so secret hope that my sons will remember these nights in a not so distant future as part of the experiences that made the difference for them.

The crux of intercultural adaptation and integration is the ability to have an alternative cultural experience. To make it happen, around here, we just need to come to I-House dining hall for lunch or dinner, or to the next coffee hour or to Sunday Supper where the world gathers around the table to share bread, ideas and laughs.

No matter what you’ll certainly find me there. In high heels, of course!

IMG_2658

IMG_2657

IMG_2741

About lilianacardile

For my whole life the world has been a wonderful book and, being an avid reader, I have enjoyed every page so far. Journalist, traveller, internationalist and...gourmet I plan to see it all. At I-House I can do it just sitting at the Front Desk!
This entry was posted in Life at I-House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Supper makes it happen again!

  1. Mamma Rena says:

    Dearest Lili, you don’t know how proud I feel for you!
    Mamma

Leave a Reply

