The Rooms of Requirement!

Beeping alarms, red laptop eyes, nights deep in books, hasty goodbyes!

Its that time of the year again when the I-House bears raise hands and say – Ah! Midterms. Surprisingly, I wasn’t surprised when a girl asked me yesterday, “I can’t study in my room, where should I go?” After directing her to her Room of Requirement, I realized that a lot of you might be still searching for yours. So, here is the key…

Study Tables in the Library

Study Tables in the Library

More ambient study space in the Library

More ambient study space in the Library

Lets begin with a toast to our library near the dining hall. I bet you already knew about it and so did your fellow housemates. Consequently, it will usually be full (Its still a nice place for a nap). Where else can you go then?

For starters, every floor has a lounge.

The quiet little Fourth Floor Lounge

The quiet little Fourth Floor Lounge

The nice big Fifth Floor Lounge

The nice big Fifth Floor Lounge

 

 

 

 

 

 

The one on the third is a small room without windows right next to the elevator but it has a nice whiteboard, a square table and chairs. In short, its a great place for working with project teams. Fourth floor has a similar lounge and another bigger well ventilated one with a TV set and some couches (Someone is going to kill me for telling this. So, I leave the adventure of finding it to you). Further up on the fifth there is a bigger and door-less version of the whiteboard lounges. This is great for group studies or those small breaks when you need to stretch.

Working Hard! The Sixth Floor lounge

Working Hard!
The Sixth Floor Lounge

Working Harder! The Seventh Floor Lounge

Working Harder!
The Seventh Floor Lounge

Sixth and seventh floor lounges offer some of the best bay views and a nice cool breeze, in case that one unsolvable problem is heating your head up. There is also a nice TV set on the sixth and both of these lounges take you down the memory lane with pictures of ex-residents who shared the space.

Resident Thanh in The Lounge of the Ladies (Its open even for gentlemen!)

Resident Thanh in The Lounge of the Ladies (Its open even for gentlemen!)

At the top of them all, is the beautiful Lounge of the Ladies on the eighth that looks out to the stars above and Oakland below (and the noisy Frats too if you go further down). A word of caution though – Whoever you are, Whatever you do, Do Not Upset the Ladies! There, I said it.

Moving on, for the main course, I take you to the dining hall. “Wait, weren’t you talking about studying? I thought you just used food as a metaphor.” Right on both accounts. This may come as a revelation but the dining hall is open daily from 9p to 4a as a study place for the residents. Yes, I am serious! Please go, tell your friends and share your surprise.

Awaiting in all its grandeur! The Dining Commons after 9p

Awaiting in all its grandeur!
The Dining Commons after 9p

Bathed in Light! The Computer Room on third floor

Bathed in Light!
The Computer Room on third floor

A place to relax! The Lounge next to Laundry

A place to relax!
The Lounge next to Laundry

What do we have for dessert, you my ask! Oh, we got three for you. The computer room is the brightest available study place in the entire house while the lounge right next to the laundry is the coziest.

If you got some printing/scanning related work, need a bright cool place to study or would like to save some time while your clothes get washed, now you know where to go.

However, if you like to read with a quiet morning breakfast or in more regular hours with a lot of people around or just in the open with fresh air clearing up your thoughts, there is the I-house cafe and its nice little patio.

To round it all up with a coffee, let me take you to the evergreen home of  coffee hours – the Great Hall. Huge couches, tables, chairs, chandeliers, lamps, it has got them all. Archaic yet the most artistic study space of them all, it also flaunts two open mezzanine lounges on both sides with nice study spaces and outlets for your faithful electronic friends.

Needs no words! The Great Hall

Needs no words!
The Great Hall

Mezzanine study area on south side of Great Hall

Mezzanine study area on south side of Great Hall

All Those Spaces….are just for you. Come finals and they all fill up too.

Wait! Don’t Panic! Given the all time quiet hours rule during finals, there is one more place that will always be open. Just step out of your room and you will find the vast carpeted hallways silently waiting.

Intense study sessions in the hallways

Intense study sessions in the hallways

The next time you want to venture out looking for a study place at I-house, remember –
If you have to ask, you will never know. If you know, you need only ask.

P.S. – Need a study break? Read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

About vishwab

Live it ! Love it ! Thats in short about me. For the keener audience, currently a PhD student in Systems Engineering at UC, Berkeley, I come from the holy city of Varanasi in India. I am passionate about teaching, music, writing, travelling and meeting new people. My time at Berkeley living at International House has both reared and been reared by the above. For the professionally oriented, I did my undergrad in Civil Engineering and Masters in Structural Engineering, have taught Physics at Berkeley for 5 semesters and at Stanford for 2 summers and my research is currently focused on Vehicle to Grid Systems and Persuasive Technology. For the even more interested, keep an eye on the blog..:)
This entry was posted in Faces of I-House, Life at I-House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rooms of Requirement!

  1. These photos bring back so many memories for me, resident from 1962 to 1965. Makes me feel so homesick for my lovely I house.
    Bala

  2. Pingback: I-House Resident and Alumni Blogger Awards | I-House: Where UC Berkeley Meets the World

Leave a Reply

