At I-House, hosting is fun!

The Host Family Program reception last Sunday at I-House was one of those you never want to leave. We started at 4 pm in the beautiful Heller Patio. The weather was perfect, music from all over the world was playing, refreshments and delicious appetizers were ready as the students and hosts, the true soul of this incredible community, arrived for the festive gathering.

Host families and students mingling at I-House

Host families and students mingling at I-House

10, 20, 40, 70, wait a minute… Here we are: 120 students, hosts (families and individuals), I-House staff, all celebrating our love for hospitality, our friendship with I-House, our curiosity for each other countries and cultures.

New friendships formed during Host Family reception

New friendships formed during Host Family reception

Languages mixed, the atmosphere was great. There were invitations, smiles, hugs, plans for the following days and weeks, pictures, a relaxed and sparkling vibe, open minds and open hearts all brought together under the Dome.

From Italy and California...

Host Families spreading the love…

At 6 pm, when the reception was supposed to end, everybody was still there enjoying that very special moment. We surrendered around 6:45 pm and I bet we all went home very content. We came in as strangers and left as friends. Ah, the miracles of this place!

And then, on Monday, when I thought I had to give up my  “matchmaking” until Spring, here come new families and students who want to join the fun!

Word of mouth proved to be fast! You heard about our patio gathering, you want to be part of the group, you really hope to host this year or to be hosted.  You ask me to restart the process. 🙂

We did well and now, two days after our big start, five more hosts and fifteen more residents are joining the group.  I am thinking of more, new ways to nurture this great group. Stay tuned, there is a lot more coming up!

The I-House love is strong…

From Australia to France...

From Australia to France…

From Italy and California...

From Italy and California…

From Estonia to China and South Korea...

From Estonia to China and South Korea…

Mattia and Ayden love I-House

Mattia and Ayden love I-House

Even while sleeping....

Even while sleeping….

Look who’s hosting this year…

I-House Executive Director and his two guests

I-House Executive Director Hans Giesecke with his two guests

First time host family Laurie & Mitch Ferris with Bea from Espana

First time host family Laurie & Mitch Ferris with Bea, an exchange student from España

To learn more about the Host Family Program, visit:
I-House Host Family Program is back!

Host Family Program members, I love you!

About lilianacardile

For my whole life the world has been a wonderful book and, being an avid reader, I have enjoyed every page so far. Journalist, traveller, internationalist and...gourmet I plan to see it all. At I-House I can do it just sitting at the Front Desk!
This entry was posted in Faces of I-House, Life at I-House and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to At I-House, hosting is fun!

  1. Pingback: 2014 in review | I-House: Where UC Berkeley Meets the World

Leave a Reply

