The Rockin’ I-House Mailman

Ciao Riccardo!

This is how I greet Richard, one of the beloved I-House mailmen, at least twice per day. Richard has been on the US Postal Service’s so called Panoramic route for the last 40 years and at I-House we are so lucky to be one of his favorite stops.

Mailman Richard and his psychedelic haircut

Mailman Richard and his psychedelic haircut

Every time he comes in, Richard smiles and tells me something funny while rushing towards his destination inside the building.  All of our staff knows him, some of us call him the Rod Stewart mailman, and if you look at his picture you’ll understand why.

He’s a very pleasant man of many interests. He cooks (not as often as he could, according to his wife), loves to travel and has been playing guitar all his life. In fact he has an incredible collection of guitars at home and has showed me the pictures proudly naming each and every of them. Riccardo is also blessed with a very nice sense of humor and he is able to make everything look light and easy.

He is from Southern California and came to Berkeley because of, what else, love.

In the last four decades Richard has been taking the pulse of his Panoramic route community every day, so he knows a lot. He meets everyone, he’s the first to learn about deaths, newborns, divorces, new romances and new Front Desk staff at I-House.

And…Richard has the most incredible hair style a mailman can have.

About lilianacardile

For my whole life the world has been a wonderful book and, being an avid reader, I have enjoyed every page so far. Journalist, traveller, internationalist and...gourmet I plan to see it all. At I-House I can do it just sitting at the Front Desk!
This entry was posted in Faces of I-House and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

