Buongiorno I-House

A job at I-House is not your everyday job.

We still clock in and out, write reports, have supervisors and hold meetings. But there is more than that here: we are part of a big community made by smart International and American students, interesting visitors, incredible alumni, talented speakers for our events, lovely I-House friends and beautiful, beautiful staff.

Liliana Cardile

Saying “Buongiorno” is my favorite morning ritual, along with a good cup of espresso!

Everyone of us working under the Dome knows how important it is to establish mutual trust and good relationships with our coworkers, students and friends and how nice it is to share our news, joys and worries with them in the hallways or in front of the coffee machines on those days when everything seems to go in a wrong direction.

Working at the Front Desk I noticed everyone of us has developed a peculiar, instinctive way to nurture our community, based on small everyday habits. It can be a daily appointment with a favorite colleague in front of a fresh coffee, a regular brief chat on our way home, a joke while moving our cars to escape the City of Berkeley fines, lunch together, workout or long walks during lunch breaks. Everybody does it in a special way.

I find these daily rites help the day go by and even serve to separate different blocks in our work schedule. I of course have my favorites, one above all.

In the morning, when I come in, I always make sure to be just a little bit early. That is when I walk through the House to say good morning to the different offices. As work at I-House resembles a long ongoing conversation, this is my way to restart it after the night pause and let everyone know I am back in the House. It’s a two seconds catch up with everyone but it really makes my morning. I call it the “Buongiorno walk”, my very own way to feed my community sense and I truly enjoy it.

And you, students, friends and I-House staff: which is your personal way to strengthen your community feeling under the Dome?

About lilianacardile

For my whole life the world has been a wonderful book and, being an avid reader, I have enjoyed every page so far. Journalist, traveller, internationalist and...gourmet I plan to see it all. At I-House I can do it just sitting at the Front Desk!
This entry was posted in Life at I-House and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buongiorno I-House

  1. Laurel Anderson Malinovsky says:

    Liliana- I know that everyone here at I-House will agree…your smile and greeting always brings sunshine to the day! Thank you!

  2. lilianacardile says:

    🙂

  3. I love to get out of the office and take a walk at lunch with I-House co-workers. It gives us a chance to get to know each other while getting exercise and fresh air. There definitely is a sense of community within the walking group. Over the years this group has evolved and some people who have moved to other jobs still join us on the I-House front steps for the walk at noon. My favorite walk is the Fire Trail by Strawberry Creek, but there is also the Goat Trail and The Wall. Our group decides which trail based on the time and energy levels people have. At times it can be very challenging, but we all agree that we feel much better after we finish our little hike.

Leave a Reply

